Dances (V.86)

Dances are a set of three short pieces for brass quintet (Boléro, Tango, Feria) subtitled 'impressions'. The reason for the distinction is that these vignettes are not dances in the traditional sense but rather are symphonic fragments which present the dances' essential structure, and have the dance constantly chase after itself; a kind of Cubist rendering
of a tango or a fractally structured boléro.

Scored for traditional brass quintet, Dances is sure to engage audiences and challenge players of all levels of experience. It is particularly suited for exposing intermediate ensembles to music in a more contemporary idiom.

Purchase Options

Page 1-4 of the Score to Boléro
Click to enlarge (click back to return to this page)

Ffflorestan publishing

All material contained herein, including website design, is copyright © Patrick Valentino, unless otherwise credited.
All rights reserved. No content on this website may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means without permission.