Four Bells Sketches (V.51)

Three movement work for trombone quartet, ATTB, or
TTTB. The alto trombone part is copied out for alto, treble,
and bass clefs and goes up to Eb5.

1. Serial Killer
2. Nostalgia
3. Momentum Perpetuum

The first movement is a lighthearted attempt to write a serial fugue, rather than
focusing on the tonal aspects of harmonic tension and release, it gives cadencial
impressions through pitch concentration; the second movement uses a glissandi-
choral texture to create atmosphere under a long alto trombone line. In the
last movement, all the stops are pulled. A fun and challenging piece for advanced
ensembles, it was premiered by the MSU trombone quartet in spring 2003.

Purchase Options

Page 1 of the score to Four Bells Sketches (mvt 3)
Click to enlarge (click back to return to this page)

Ffflorestan publishing

All material contained herein, including website design, is copyright © Patrick Valentino, unless otherwise credited.
All rights reserved. No content on this website may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means without permission.